Footingcover4The Footing: £12 (hardback)

UK orders (+ £1.99 postage)

Europe orders (+ £5.25 postage) 

Rest of World orders (+ £8.25 postage) 

It is the best anthology of new work that I’ve read in years; anyone with an interest in contemporary British poetry should read it. Billy Mills on The Footing for Sabotage Reviews (click here to read the review in full)

What a book! Walking-writing as a collective act, as it should be.  Robert Macfarlane

The Footing is an anthology of specially commissioned poems on the theme of walking, with substantial contributions from Angelina AyersJames Caruth, Mark Goodwin, Rob Hindle, Andrew Hirst, Chris Jones and Fay Musselwhite. A beautifully produced 96-page hardback book, it is available from Longbarrow Press for £12 (+ P&P). You can order the book securely by clicking on the relevant PayPal button above (all major debit cards accepted). Watch the short film trailer below:

City, country and coast (and the spaces in between) are the settings for these journeys; here, the act of walking is, by turns, exploratory, destructive, restorative, defiant, contemplative and devotional. The poems and sequences in The Footing are The Strait (Angelina Ayers), Tithes (James Caruth), From a St Juliot to Beyond a Beeny (Mark Goodwin), Flights and Traverses (Rob Hindle), Three Night Walks (Andrew Hirst), Death and the Gallant (Chris Jones) and Breach (Fay Musselwhite). A sound-walk through The Footing, featuring spoken contributions from the poets and narration by Emma Bolland, is available to hear below:

Two earlier walking-themed Longbarrow publications – Matthew Clegg’s 2008 sequence Edgelands (now available in his first full collection West North East) and James Caruth’s long poem Dark Peak (also 2008) – provided the inspiration for the project. The paths taken in The Footing offer new perspectives on landscape, history and memory; each poem and sequence is marked by the unscreened, the unplanned, the unexpected. As Rebecca Solnit says in her book Wanderlust: A History of Walking, ‘every walker is a guard on patrol to protect the ineffable…’

About Longbarrow Press
Longbarrow Press was founded in 2005 and publishes poems by J.R. Carpenter, James Caruth, Matthew Clegg, Kelvin Corcoran, Angelina D’Roza, Steve Ely, Nancy Gaffield, Mark Goodwin, Pete Green, Lee Harwood, Rob Hindle, Andrew Hirst, Chris Jones, Fay Musselwhite, Alistair Noon and Peter Riley. Titles range across various formats, including pamphlets, boxes and CDs; most are designed and produced by hand, some in limited editions. Please visit the Longbarrow Press website for further information about the press.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s